New Initiative: Writing For Publication – January 22-23, 2013 @ UMBC


HIn the spirit of The Dissertation House, we are piloting a new seminar series called “Writing for Publication” for graduate students at all levels. ย In these sessions, students who are ready to prepare research for publication would gather as a group with a mentor-coach to hear advice, set goals, and work on manuscripts.

Dates: Tuesday, January 22 and Wednesday, January 23, 2013

Location: UMBC Commons, Room 318 (1/22), Room 331 (1/23)

Eligibility: ย All M.S. and Ph.D. students, in all disciplines are welcome to apply. ย We will choose up to 15 students. Decisions will be made based on clarity and focus of project descriptions.

Mentor-Coach: Dr. Patricia Young, Associate Professor of Education, UMBC

Project Description/Application:

A) Please submit a current CV.

B) Please answer the following questions: ย (1) What is the topic of your intended publication? (2) Where are you in the writing process? (3) Have you published any journal articles to date? (4) Which journals are you targeting? (Please give the titles, with websites) 5)ย What are your goals for this workshop (Completed paper? Abstract? Literature Review?).

C) Include the following header information with the description:

  • Name
  • Address
  • Telephone numbers (home, office, and fax)
  • E-mail address
  • Academic Program and Year in the program

Deadline:ย We have a short window for this pilot project. Email applications toย promisestaff@gmail.comย by December 19, 2012.ย  Please use the words โ€œWriting for Publicationโ€ in the subject line of your email.

Sample schedule:ย 

Day 1, January 22, 2013
9:00 Breakfast, welcome, and introductions.
9:15 – 9:30 Goal setting
9:30 – 12:00 Mini Lecture and Discussion #1 by Dr.ย Young
“The Basics and Insider Tips to Academic Writing.ย “
12 – 1:00 Lunch in the Skylight Room
1:00 – 2:00 Mini Lecture and Discussion #2 by Dr.ย Young
“Writing is revising, editing and rewriting”
2:00 – 5:00 Work on Publication
_________________________________
Day 2, Wednesday, January 23, 2013
9:00 Breakfast, report-out, and goal-setting
9:30 – 10:30 Mini Lecture and Discussion #3 by Dr.ย Young
“Perseverance and Publishing.”
10:30 – 12:00 Work on Publication
12 – 1:00 Lunch in the Skylight Room
1:00 – 1:30 Remarks and Remaining Tips by Dr.ย Young
1:30 – 5:00 Work on Publication


50 responses to “New Initiative: Writing For Publication – January 22-23, 2013 @ UMBC”

  1. […] New Initiative: Writing For Publication – January 22-23, 2013 @ UMBC (dissertationhouse.wordpress.com) […]

  2. UPDATE: We can accept up to three more completed applications. Students who clicked “I can attend” on the MyUMBC website without submitted a complete application package via the directions (A, B, & C) above are not on the final list of participants.

  3. If you are unable to join us in person, you may participate online here by posting your goals and recording your progress. All “in-person” participants will be posting their progress on January 22 and 23, but you don’t have to wait. Confirmed registrants, and any others who would like to participate may post at any time. Share your topic and a measurable goal for the day.

  4. Goals: 1) edit my article according to the appropriate writing style, 2) check and correct my English, 3) check cohesion of the article, the way it goes from introduction to discussion.

    1. Yesterday I started editing my title, abstract and introduction. Today is going to be a very productive day!

  5. Today, I hope to complete revisions to an article after receiving first edits from the publisher. If possible, I also want to make final revisions to an article I hope to submit to the Journal of College Teaching Excellence.

    1. I’m about 3/4ths of the way through the requested edits to my article, which I’m going to try to tackle after dinner tonight. Tomorrow I’ll work on a fewer, less-involved self-edits to another proposed article I’ve yet to submit. But I might ditch this in favor of working on my comp exam questions.

      1. Made a pretty good dent last night, and hope to finish the article revisions this morning.

        1. Sent the article back to the editors last night. ๐Ÿ™‚

          JF

  6. My goal for the Day 1 of Writing for Publication is to develop an outline for my paper as well as continue to build on the literature review for my topic. Additionally I would like to have a completed methods section by the end of the day.

  7. I am planning to finish the methodology section today.

    1. I am only halfway through my methodology section. I believe i can finish it tomorrow.

  8. get the first vision ready

    1. *version

      1. finish the methodology and results part, work on the rest of the sections tonight. hopefully, I will get the goal done before tomorrow’s seminar.

    2. finished up the most of the part as the first draft, left the abstract open for today. So today I will write the abstract and polish the first draft and maybe turn the abstract to a poster extended abstract.

  9. My goal is simply to get a better idea of the writing process in preparation for future projects.

  10. Hello Everyone,

    I’m Nohemi and my goals for the day are:
    – review the articles submission guidelines for the journal I’m targeting: Biological Conservation
    – develop an outline for the article
    – work on the methods section of the article

  11. Goals: 1) complete the first draft of my paper, 2)with good scientific writing style, 3)learn how to write a journal article effectively.

    1. Accomplishment of the first day in the workshop: complete the introduction of the paper, half way through the result section.
      I learned how to construct the paper better. When I don’t know what to write next, I just use the provided guideline by Dr. Young to keep it going. This is great and definitely come back for tomorrow workshop!

  12. I want to outline and decided what I would like to put into my progress report. I have a lot of small write ups that can, in a number of combinations, be made into a paper. I need to summarize what I have done in the past year for the progress report so that would mean I need many small summaries. However I need to improve my writing overall and explaining my thoughts thoroughly. I am thinking the progress report will be a combination of introductions for a series of papers/abstracts/proceedings. I have an introduction to the report already so I would like to finalize that by knowing what I will put into the paper.

  13. My goals for Tuesday 22, 2012:

    -To outline talking points for the Introduction and Discussion sections of my manuscript. If there is time, I can expand on each of those points with a few well-written sentences.
    -To gather some literary references for supporting those talking points (with the assumption that I will need to add to those references later)

  14. Goals today:
    Start the introduction for the essay
    Tidy up some of the sections: Data & methods to begin with
    Start a policy implication section

  15. Today’s goals – Finish related work section and begin on methodology section.

  16. I am going to extend one conference paper to a journal paper. Most of the experiments have done already. I hope I can finish writing all the detailed introduction of the 3 newly defined features along with their classification capability today.

  17. Goals for 1/22:
    Finish going over (2 sets of) revisions for a conference paper due tonight
    Make the images i this paper consistent

  18. My goal is to gain an overall better understanding of the publication writing process.

  19. Today I’ve completed the introduction part of my paper and tomorrow will continue to work on the methods section of my piece.

  20. Todayโ€™s results โ€“ Almost finished the related work section. Hopefully, finish my related work section and begin on the methodology section tomorrow.

  21. Today I finished the definitions of the 2 topical diversity features and show their classification capability by figures. Tomorrow I am going to finish the other 2 features and try to incorporate them into the results section.

    1. It’s the second day. I am going to finish the details introduction of the other 3 features along with their classification capability in spam detection.

  22. Today, I have gained better understanding of the “writing for publication” process. I have also managed to start several sections within the paper. These include; introduction, data & methods as well as policy implication. Tomorrow, I hope to continue with the sections and perhaps finish the introduction and policy implication sections altogether.

  23. During the first day of the seminar I was able to revise my related work section, literature review, and also method section. Tomorrow I hope to work on my results, introduction, and conclusion sections.

  24. By the end of today’s session I:

    1) Edited my title and abstract (which I had not originally intended to do, but wanted to incorporate some of the suggestions offered by Dr. Young today)
    2) Outlined my Introduction section by writing out what point I should try to convey with each paragraph and then arranging those points in a logical order (broad to specific)
    3) Began writing 2-5 sentences for each paragraph and including the references I knew off the top of my head.

    Tomorrow I would like to:

    1) Continue adding to each of the Intro paragraphs and polishing the sentences.
    2) Outline the discussion section in the same manner as I did the Intro and see how far I get….!

  25. I was able to achieve a lot today! I wrote the abstract for my paper and I’m done with the methods section.
    Goals for Wednesday, Jan 23:
    – outline the results section
    – work on the results section

  26. Goals: write about experiments I have done.
    Yesterday I decided what I wanted to put in each section and completed the introduction but it needs revision.

  27. Today’s goal is to fine tune introduction and methodology section as well as look for viable conferences to submit an abstract

  28. Today I would like to expand and polish my Introduction and begin outlining my Discussion section.

    Good luck everyone!

  29. Goals: edit the whole text in the way paragraphs do not start with dependent clauses, there are no boring sentences, the whole texts is interesting to read and assertive.

  30. Today I will continue developing the sections I started yesterday (introduction, data & methods as and policy implication). Hopefully I finish most of it today.

  31. My goals for to day are to polish my abstract and work on the results section

  32. goals for today at the workshop: finish the result section and working on materials and methods part of the paper.

    1. Accomplishment of the day at the workshop: actually finished the result section, still working on the materials and methods part.
      I also learned how to search for journal article impact factor properly. This is a wonderful workshop! Thank you Dr. Young, Dr. Tull and the organization for giving us this great opportunity!

  33. Yesterday I learned some great tips for writing a related work section, choosing an appropriate title, and writing the best abstract.

    My goals for today are to start a literature review for a potential dissertation topic.

  34. Today I invested a lot of time on literature review and improving my Introduction section by polishing sentences and adding references. I did not get time to even *think* about my discussion section–so I’m realizing how time consuming writing can really be!

  35. I got so much accomplished during these two days. First of all, i realized all the work that needs to be done beforehand before submitting a paper. It’s not just about writing the paper, but how to write it and all the other requirements from the journal one wants to submit the article to. So, I got to work on the results section of the article, polished my abstract (still has to trim it to fit the 250 words requirements), wrote the highlights and the acknowledgements sections of the paper. Thanks for organizing that initiative, and thanks to Dr Young and Dr Tull for all the wonderful information they provided us!

  36. […] PROMISE AGEP Dissertation House and the NSF ADVANCE Hispanic Women in STEM Project to develop the “Writing for Publication” workshop. This week, we welcome 22 members of the faculty from Universidad Metropolitana (UMET) to our […]

Join the conversation! Leave a Reply.

What is dissertation house?


The Dissertation House program is an intensive writing retreat designed to help graduate students overcome the barriers that often impede progress on their dissertations. Developed by the University of Maryland, Baltimore County, the program provides a supportive and structured environment where students can focus on their writing, receive feedback, and learn effective time management and goal-setting strategies. Over several days, students work in groups, participate in workshops, and receive coaching from experienced facilitators. The Dissertation House program has been highly successful in helping students make significant progress on their dissertations. It is widely regarded as a valuable resource for graduate students seeking to complete their degrees.

Newsletter