Summer 2013: “Writing for Publication” Workshop at UMBC, July 9-10


Books3Based on  The Dissertation House, “Writing for Publication” allows graduate students at all levels to spend time on publications for journals.  In these sessions, students who are ready to prepare research for publication will gather as a group to work on manuscripts.

Dates: Tuesday, July 9 and Wednesday, July 10, 2013

Location: UMBC Commons, Room 331

Eligibility:  All M.S. and Ph.D. students, in all disciplines are welcome to apply.  We will choose up to 15 students. Decisions will be made based on clarity and focus of project descriptions.

Special Guest Speaker: Dr. Kevin Omland, Professor, Biological Sciences, UMBC

Project Description/Application:

A) Please submit a current CV.

B) Please answer the following questions:  (1) What is the topic of your intended publication? (2) Where are you in the writing process? (3) Have you published any journal articles to date? (4) Which journals are you targeting? (Please give the titles, with websites) 5) What are your goals for this workshop (Completed paper? Abstract? Literature Review?).

C) Include the following header information with the description:

  • Name
  • Address
  • Telephone numbers (home, office, and fax)
  • E-mail address
  • Academic Program and Year in the program

Deadline: We have a short window for this pilot project. Email applications to promisestaff@gmail.com by July 1, 2013.  Please use the words “Writing for Publication” in the subject line of your email.

Sample schedule: 

Day 1, Tuesday, July 9, 2013
9:00 Breakfast, welcome, and introductions.
9:15 – 9:30 Goal setting
9:30 – 12:00 Mini Lecture and Discussion #1 by Dr. Omland
Understanding Impact Factor
12 – 1:00 Lunch in the Skylight Room
1:00 –  5:00 Work on Publication
_________________________________
Day 2, Wednesday, July 10, 2013
9:00 Breakfast, report-out, and goal-setting
9:30 – 10:00 Discussion
10:00 – 12:00 Work on Publication
12 – 1:00 Lunch in the Skylight Room
1:00 – 3:00 Mini Lecture and Discussion #2 by Dr. Omland
Avoid the False Demon of “Perfection”
3:00 – 5:00 Work on Publication
__________________________________

See information from our other Writing for Publication sessions:

“Writing for Publication – Puerto Rico” May 2013

“Writing for Publication – Pilot @ UMBC, January 2013



16 responses to “Summer 2013: “Writing for Publication” Workshop at UMBC, July 9-10”

  1. […] ← Summer 2013: “Writing for Publication” Workshop at UMBC, July 9-10 […]

  2. […] Summer 2013: “Writing for Publication” Workshop at UMBC, July 9-10 (dissertationhouse.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] These July 2013 seminars at UMBC are part of the “Writing for Publication” workshop for graduate students. Graduate students who want to attend the entire workshop, which includes the lecture, must register: https://dissertationhouse.wordpress.com/2013/06/20/summer-2013-writing-for-publication-workshop-at-um… […]

  4. Hello all,
    I’m a PhD student in the GES department and am excited to hunker down and makes lots of progress on a manuscript I’ve been working on. My goals for the writing for publication workshop are to complete a solid draft of the introduction and rough outline of the discussion.

  5. Hi,
    I’m a PhD student in gerontology. I have a manuscript draft that has been in progress for a while. I need to incorporate suggestions from my mentors/ co-authors, and update my literature review. By the end of the workshop, I want to be able to send my co-authors a manuscript that is ready to be submitted to the journal. See you there!

  6. Madhubanti Chatterjee Avatar
    Madhubanti Chatterjee

    Hi
    I’m a PhD candidate in Chemical Engineering. I am currently working on biomedical area of research. Through this workshop I would like to learn how to prepare a draft which will be a compact outline applicable to biomedical and pediatrics field.

  7. Hello,

    My name is Adam Shulman and I am a PhD student in the Public Policy Department. I am working on and economic profile/ case study of Columbus, Ohio as an example of a successful Midwestern City. My goal for the next two days is to polish my original paper and make suitable for publication in an academic journal.

  8. Hi,
    I’m a PhD student in Environmental Engineering and my goal is to work on the introduction section of my first paper during the workshop.

  9. Hello, my name is Nan Zhou and i am currently a PhD student in the Psychology department. I am working on an independent project related to parental feeding among immigrant mothers. My goal for the next two days is to get started with my Introduction section.

  10. Hello, my name is Jared Dixon and I am a Master’s Student at UMBC. I have started writing the introduction and motivation for my Master’s thesis. I am adding content to an experiment I worked on last year. The experiment will be interrelated to my thesis. I am going over my notes from my experiments and re-writing the methodology for my experiment.

  11. Yesterday was productive! I was able to complete a first draft of an introduction that I feel pretty good about, and also filled in some minor gaps in the methods section that needed attention. Today my goals are to 1) complete the methods section (just one sub-section to write; a paragraph or two), and 2) have a rough outline for the discussion. If I have time, I will revisit the introduction to fill it out more, but this will probably happen on a later day.

  12. I felt that yesterday did allow me to make my paper look more professional. Unfortunately, I may still have a long way to go. My goal for today is to see if I can figure out some concrete next steps.

  13. I had a very productive writing time yesterday! I completed a first draft of my introduction outline, and was able to find and read a couple of relevant articles through on-campus library resources. My goal for today is to finish reading the articles that I searched yesterday, and refine the outline. The second goal for the afternoon is to start writing the first several intro sessions.

  14. Yesterday was productive. I was able to address most of the feedback from my co-authors/ mentors. I also added new articles. Today, my goal is to complete the edits and have a revised draft ready to send back to co-authors by Friday (I think I’ll need to finish renumbering AMA style citations at home). I’m looking forward to Dr. Omland’s session today. I definitely get stalled / bogged down when I’m writing because I’m trying to make things perfect. My overall goal is to write more in a shorter period of time, then go back for edits.

  15. After speaking with an adviser for about an hour this afternoon, my original draft may be history. However, it has led me to a possible thesis topic. I may not have met my original goals but I may end up with new ones.

  16. Thanks for organizing a great workshop! I made more good progress yesterday and left motivated to get even closer to the publication goal. Thanks!

Join the conversation! Leave a Reply.

What is dissertation house?


The Dissertation House program is an intensive writing retreat designed to help graduate students overcome the barriers that often impede progress on their dissertations. Developed by the University of Maryland, Baltimore County, the program provides a supportive and structured environment where students can focus on their writing, receive feedback, and learn effective time management and goal-setting strategies. Over several days, students work in groups, participate in workshops, and receive coaching from experienced facilitators. The Dissertation House program has been highly successful in helping students make significant progress on their dissertations. It is widely regarded as a valuable resource for graduate students seeking to complete their degrees.

Newsletter