Summer Dissertation House 2023


Turbocharge Your Dissertation Writing in a Supportive and Structured Environment!

Join us from July 5-7, 2023, for a transformative experience designed to help you overcome challenges, learn valuable strategies, and make substantial progress on your dissertation.

Are you a doctoral student looking to make significant headway on your dissertation this summer? The Summer Dissertation House 2023 is the perfect opportunity to supercharge your writing, learn practical techniques, and connect with a supportive community of fellow dissertation writers. Take advantage of this chance to take your dissertation to the next level!

Event Details

  • When: July 5-7, 2023, from 9 AM to 4:30 PM each day
  • Where: Commons building, room 329
  • Who: Doctoral students from all disciplines committed to making progress on their dissertations or proposals, Master students working on their thesis or capstone project.
  • What to do: During the Event, Everyone would post their daily updates/ progress in the form of comments! 

What to Expect

At the Summer Dissertation House, you’ll benefit from the following:

  1. Dedicated Writing Time: Make the most of structured writing sessions to concentrate on your project without distractions.
  2. Expert Coaching: Receive personalized guidance and feedback from an experienced mentor during one-on-one sessions.
  3. Interactive Workshops: Participate in workshops covering essential topics such as time management, effective writing strategies, overcoming writer’s block, and maintaining motivation.
  4. Supportive Community: Connect with fellow students, share your experiences, and create lasting relationships.
  5. Post-Event Resources: Gain access to valuable resources and tips to help you maintain momentum and stay on track after the event.

How to Apply

  • Application Period: The application period starts on April 3 and ends on May 1, 2023. Take advantage of this opportunity to accelerate your progress!
  • Application Process:
  • Selection Criteria: Participants will be selected based on the quality of their applications. Apply early to increase your chances of being selected.

To join us online:

  1. Go to the comment section below and introduce yourself (name, school, department.) Note: You may use your full name or an alias. If you have a blog, you may use your blogger ID; however, you do not need a username or password to participate.
  2. Tell us what you are working on and what you plan to accomplish today or over the next few days.
  3. Blog daily, preferably twice a day (morning and afternoon/evening), to report your goals for the day, your daily accomplishments, and your goals for the next day.

How to Apply

  1. Create a single Word document with the following settings:
    1. font size 11-12 pt
    2. 1 inch margins
  2. Divide it into 2 sections – Part 1 and Part 2
  3. In Part 1, type your header information on one page:
    1.  Name
    2. Address
    3. Telephone numbers (mobile, home, office)
    4. E-mail address
    5. Academic Program
    6. Year in program (1st year, 5th Year, etc)
  4. Type up a brief description (maximum 2 pages) describing the project you wish to accomplish during the Dissertation House period.
  5. In Part 2, type up the following:
    1. Summary of the project, including research question(s), data, texts, and methods
    2. Amount completed on the project to date
    3. Any obstacles you have encountered that hinder completion of the dissertation

Email the application to promise@umbc.edu using the subject line format: “Dissertation House 2023 Winter Application: FirstName LastName”

Applications will only be reviewed or accepted during the application enrollment period. 

Questions?

We’re here to help! If you have any questions or concerns, please contact us at promise@umbc.edu. We look forward to supporting you on your writing journey!



22 responses to “Summer Dissertation House 2023”

  1. Tyrah Cobb-Davis Avatar
    Tyrah Cobb-Davis

    Hi all, hope the summer is going well for everyone. I’m Tyrah and I am a master’s student in the Geography and Environmental Systems department at UMBC. Looking forward to joining you all next month!

  2. Charlotte Keniston Avatar
    Charlotte Keniston

    I had a great first day- thanks for creating this space! Tomorrow I’ll be working on coding my interview and field notes in the morning and hopefully outlining my chapter structure in the afternoon.

  3. yarazethmedina Avatar
    yarazethmedina

    Welcome to day 1 DHers! We have a full house this week and we are feeling inspired to join you on your path towards writing, creating and publishing that paper, dissertation, thesis or proposal! We have all be busy all day, in the correct mental space to push forward and meet our objectives. You got this! Please do remember to write down a note to yourself at the end of the day so you remember where you left off and have an easy start tomorrow morning! Thank you for joining us at Dissertation House this summer!

  4. Today I finished reviewing and integrating some of the final works I wanted to include in my literature review and my introduction. Also, with the prompting of Dr. CV, I used the proposal cookbook to iterate and refine my problem statement. Tomorrow, I will continue my work on the introduction section!

  5. I submitted my IRB amendment and created an outline for my preliminary research chapter. I will pick up tomorrow writing the first section of that chapter.

    1. Today, I wrote 6 pages of totally new ideas (in my preliminary research chapter). I remembered how challenging it can be to put what I think “exists” in my head onto the page. I have a sinking feeling a lot of what I wrote will end up getting cut, so I am planning to move on to a new sub-section tomorrow.

  6. Tyrah Cobb-Davis Avatar
    Tyrah Cobb-Davis

    I think that today went well–great to be in the room with other people who are concentrating on achieving their goals for the next few days. Today I was able to think more about my literature review and determine ways that I can make it better. That started with finding more relevant resources. I added to my methods section based on what I have been working on in the past few weeks. Tomorrow, I hope to continue working on my literature review.

    1. Tyrah Cobb-Davis Avatar
      Tyrah Cobb-Davis

      Happy 2nd day of DH! Today I was all over the place but got good things done! I addressed the comments I got from an advisor on a document I recently submitted, read a few papers that were actually relevant, and organized my working document so that it is in a more shareable format. After lunch, I switched gears from writing and started to address some coding issues in R.

  7. My first day went very well. I mapped out a daily schedule so that I will hand in my dissertation to my professor this fall. I also wrote 14 double-spaced pages for my fourth chapter. Tomorrow I plan to continue writing chapter 4 adding more from my document analysis and from coding analysis.

  8. Today was incredibly productive! I smashed my daily goal and then some. I reviewed all remaining titles in the CINHAL database. On top of that, I reviewed all titles in the EconLit database. I then started reviewing titles in the final database of my first pass Computers and Applied Sciences. I reviewed 750 of the 3,181 titles. I plan to review the remaining titles tomorrow. I have found this space incredibly helpful. I am able to maintain my focus and be diligent, surrounded by other scholars. I am so grateful for this opportunity after being stuck in this stage of my project for a couple weeks. I look forward to meeting with Dr. CV and continuing my progress tomorrow.

  9. Neil Kpamegan Avatar
    Neil Kpamegan

    On my first day of DH, I learned about changing my perspective about my research and the proposal going forward. I ended the day categorizing a set of papers and will move onto the next set tomorrow.

  10. Had a great 1st day of DH 2023! I really appreciate the tips on how to stay productive and get to checking those items off the to-do list. Coded 8/20 interview transcripts today and will aim to finish #9-20 on day 2.

  11. Completed reviewing one research article with annotations.

    -> Find answers to the questions in the document.

    -> Need to make a figure that classifies how different research articles can be placed wrt my research article.

    -> Review 2 articles tomorrow with annotations.

  12. Day 2 was quite successful. Meeting with Dr. CV helped me better understand my dissertation and my timeline for completion. I also reached my Day 2 goal and completed the first pass of my scoping review. Tomorrow I start my second pass. I really enjoy the energy and focus that this process brings.

  13. I am revising my introduction and methods chapters—and moving on to conclusions tomorrow!

  14. I had my 1 on 1 with Dr. CV and she helped me identify where my holes were in my research process. I continued to categorize papers and will finish the list of papers that I had set aside for the week.

  15. Another productive day! Dr. Carter-Veale’s guidance will make a difference in the approach to writing the findings. Found quotes for each of the sections of the findings and will narrow them down to three per section tonight. Tomorrow I will complete the profiles on the interviewees and the focus group members for Chapter 4 and tighten up the flow of chapter 4.

  16. Complete reviewing the 2 articles. Add a few more articles to the classification.

  17. Smashed day 2! 17/20 transcripts coded. Will finish the last 3 in the morning and then decide if there are any references to include that are now relevant to the literature review.

  18. I made it to the 2nd day of DH. Using Dr. CV’s tips and tools from Day 1; for searching, structuring and mapping my literature review I have identified and schemed through 15 papers that are relevant to my dissertation. Tomorrow, I plan to complete an initial literature map to situate my research contribution and write the method for my literature review

  19. Day 3 was excellent! I started the second pass of my scoping review and made significant progress on it. This space has been so helpful in maintaining my focus and drive. I spent the first hour reflecting on the morning session about next steps. I drafted a schedule and plan for the next several days. I also made a plan for maintaining my momentum and optimal work spaces for the coming days and weeks.

  20. Congratulations to me for reaching Day 3 of DH summer ’23. I started out today by revising my keywords and systematically documenting the process. Although I did not create my Lit. review map I did however identify relevant papers for my work, and wrote a 3 page summary draft of my introduction

Join the conversation! Leave a Reply.

What is dissertation house?


The Dissertation House program is an intensive writing retreat designed to help graduate students overcome the barriers that often impede progress on their dissertations. Developed by the University of Maryland, Baltimore County, the program provides a supportive and structured environment where students can focus on their writing, receive feedback, and learn effective time management and goal-setting strategies. Over several days, students work in groups, participate in workshops, and receive coaching from experienced facilitators. The Dissertation House program has been highly successful in helping students make significant progress on their dissertations. It is widely regarded as a valuable resource for graduate students seeking to complete their degrees.

Newsletter