Dissertation House + Postdoctoral & Alumni Writing Suite at UMB, today!


SMC CenterToday, we celebrate part 1 of the 2013 PROMISE Summer Success Institute with a Dissertation House, and a Postdoctoral & Alumni Writing Suite at the SMC Center at UMB! Postdocs and alumni may join us virtually by posting your goals here. Dissertation House (DH) participants will be meeting with Dr. Wendy Carter-Veale. Those participating in the “in-person” DH and those who are participating virtually can post their goals here: https://dissertationhouse.wordpress.com/blog-online-challenge/summer-2013-challenge/.  Let’s make it a productive day!



14 responses to “Dissertation House + Postdoctoral & Alumni Writing Suite at UMB, today!”

  1. Good morning everyone! Postdocs and alumni from any location are invited to join us virtually by posting your planned goals for writing *SOMETHING* today. Do you need to finish an abstract for a conference? Do you need to edit a paper? Do you need to finish that international fellowship application for Fulbright? Join us! Post your goals, get something done!

  2. Hello everyone. Today will be a good day! Today I’m working on a manuscript that needs work for some of the analyses, tables, and references. If I can get some good progress made on that, I will be in good shape for next week.

    It’s great to see everyone!
    Alexis

    1. Ok, it’s almost 5pm. I collected a bunch of references to skim for my background literature for the manuscript. We had a couple of really informative sessions geared specifically for postdocs from Drs Tull and Pollack. I am really motivated and have a stronger direction for my work as a result.
      Next I want to sort out the results of the articles into three dimensions for the manuscript write-up. I have also located the tables and analyses that I’ll need to work from after that. Onward!

  3. Hello Everyone!!!

    1. Evelyn Thomas, Ph.D.; UMBC; Mathematics and Statistics
    2. I plan to work on an NSF grant and outline 3 papers that I will write.

  4. I’m back at the dissertation house. This time the dissertation house for postdocs…whoo hoo!! I finally have an opportunity to explore some international opportunities that have been on my mind for some time. I plan on taking the day to explore the Fulbright and to begin some applications for UN positions. Let my international career exploration begin!

  5. Good morning; Today, I plan to:
    – Identify journals (and publication requirements for each) for PROMISE manuscripts
    – Map out potential topics for PROMISE research articles
    – Begin working on an ASHE conference paper based on my dissertation research

  6. After submitting a journal article on Aug 5th for review by established scholars in the field of sports studies, my goal is to reassess this piece and to make critical notes ahead of their responses. Some of the suggestions posted in the required readings for today (including presentation slides Renetta shared) are helpful.
    My second goal is to begin compiling pieces from old papers and the dissertation for a journal article on sports and film in Argentina.

  7. My goals for today are to complete the first round of edits of a draft for a journal article for the American Association of Community College journal.

  8. Great to be here at the Writing Suite with PROMISE Alums! Today I’m working on a policy paper for the NSF ADVANCE Hispanic Women in STEM NETWORKing Conference that took place in October 2013. I plan to:
    1. get the results to 90%
    2. develop the background and literature review
    I would like to submit this paper by October 2013 and a paper from my dissertation November 2013. I will try to blog about my progress.

    Frances

  9. 1. I am replying to emails from the previous two weeks.
    2. Editing student’s abstracts for the Tapia Conference
    3. Updating my personal and lab website, perhaps combining into one.
    4. Draft papers for SIGCSE – CyberSecurity & MOTIVATE

  10. […]  Good morning everyone! Our Summer Success Institute in Maryland begins today, and you are all welcome to join today’s “Dissertation House” session! Our group will be arriving at 9 and everyone will be posting goals around 9:30 EST. Postdocs and alumni will be in my session. All are invited to post writing goals. The key is to get something done today! https://dissertationhouse.wordpress.com/2013/08/16/dissertation-house-postdoctoral-alumni-writing-sui… […]

  11. Midday update: I have gotten the Results section to 90% done! On to the background and literature review section because I think adding more structure to these sections may further shape the results section.

  12. I’ll immediately grasp your rss feed as I can’t find your email subscription hyperlink or newsletter service. Do you have any? Please permit me know in order that I could subscribe. Thanks.

  13. Great post its very useful to us . Your blog is so informative thanks for sharing and keep up your good work doing

Join the conversation! Leave a Reply.

What is dissertation house?


The Dissertation House program is an intensive writing retreat designed to help graduate students overcome the barriers that often impede progress on their dissertations. Developed by the University of Maryland, Baltimore County, the program provides a supportive and structured environment where students can focus on their writing, receive feedback, and learn effective time management and goal-setting strategies. Over several days, students work in groups, participate in workshops, and receive coaching from experienced facilitators. The Dissertation House program has been highly successful in helping students make significant progress on their dissertations. It is widely regarded as a valuable resource for graduate students seeking to complete their degrees.

Newsletter